Candidates for Maryland Appellate Court Vacancies

The Maryland Daily Record reports that the Maryland Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has forwarded five of the six applicants to Governor O’Malley for his consideration in filling the Maryland Court of Special Appeals vacancy created by Judge J. Frederick Sharer’s retirement. Three of the applicants are judges: Frederick County Circuit Court Judge Julie Stevenson Solt; Washington County Circuit Court Judge Donald E. Beachley; and Howard County Judge Diane O. Leasure. The other two applicants are Karen L. Federman Henry, a division chief in the office of the Montgomery County Attorney General and Kathryn Grill Graeff, chief of criminal appeals in the Office of the Attorney General.

On Wednesday, the Maryland Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission forwarded three candidates to the Governor for the vacancy created by Judge Irma S. Raker’s Maryland Court of Appeals retirement: Court of Special Appeals Judges Mary Ellen Barbera and Patrick L. Woodward; and Montgomery County Circuit Court Judge Michael D. Mason. Last month I analyzed these candidates and predicted who I thought Governor O’Malley might select after careful analysis and deliberation (read: wild guess). You can click here to read that post.